Tuesday, April 14, 2009
Going to see a man about a dog
The document outlining the reasons for making Hackney Road a conservation area is well worth a read as it contains some fascinating information about the history of various buildings as well as the origins of the phrase 'Going to see a man about a dog'....
Apparently it is first recorded in a melodrama from the early 1900s about a racehorse called The Flying Scud. See below.
The Flying Scud at No. 137 Hackney Road is a mid-Victorian public house with rooms above. It is highly visible, sitting on a corner site, and is a good example of a handsome, single-bar pub, typical of mid 19th-Century East end pubs. It dates from c.1860’s, and stands a very tall three storeys, making the most of this narrow site. The ground floor has a period shopfront with brick piers, a double-height timber fascia with traces of its original pub signs still surviving.
The frontage was overlaid with white tiling, probably c.1910 when the ‘beer house’ was re-modelled for Messrs. Truman, Hanbury and Buxton. The upper floors are faced in London stock brick and still retain their original 4-over-4 timber sash windows, which are set into fine, red-brick, rubbedsurrounds with ‘gauged’ arches over.
The original Flying Scud was a sailing-ship of the 1850’s. It was also the name of a successful race horse of the 1870s. In 1901, there was a major West End hit called “The Flying Scud,” a racing drama, featuring a live horse on stage. [The play coined the phrase ‘going to see a man about a dog’.]
Formerly run by Truman’s, this pub closed in 1994.
Posted by Jonathan at 3:29 pm